Daydream Believer…

Posted: January 17, 2014 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

   Seminary, while not inherently necessary, is in many ways beneficial. Moreover, seminary is egregiously expensive. So, so, so very expensive. As such, one would perceive that it would be in one’s best interest to get one’s money’s worth and pay vigilant attention to class lectures and content.

   However, what happens when your brain doesn’t work quite like that of most people? Amazing things, that’s what! Mind you, amazing does not necessarily mean beneficial.

   In most cases I find matters of theology interesting enough that they retain my attention. Although it may be presumed that because I’m doodling or typing or some other such thing, I’m not paying attention. I am. I assure you. These things actually helps me focus. But I digress…

   Non-theological classes don’t tend to hold my attention nearly as well. I try. I really do. Problematically though, my brain allows me about 3 minutes of undivided attention per hour. Once that threshold is crossed my brain floods with imagery of food I desire to consume in mass quantities, episodes of Doctor Who, or random song lyrics from the 1980’s. I find myself pondering issues such as why the thumbs always snapped off of my G.I. Joe action figures, why occasionally you can still find people sporting a mullet, and other such random tomfoolery. I’m gone. Lost in the woods. It’s as though my brain has fled my body for more adequate stimuli.

   What makes matters worse is that the harder I try to pay attention, the more vivid and preposterous my thoughts and daydreams become. Is it that I should be heavily medicated? Is it that I am actually just that disinterested in non-theological classes? Is it that I was exposed to water with trace amounts of radiation and/or lead? I just don’t know.

   How do you focus? What’s your best tool against mind-numbing boredom when confronted with matters of syntax, algebra, or the daily monotony? What do you do to help absorb and retain information? Let me know. In the meantime, I see something shiny over there…

   Good night and good luck.

 

Image

Comments
  1. Imani Simone says:

    Truly I understand! When I realize that my mind has taken on a life of its own, I asked how did it get there? Is it the fact that at times the teachers begin to sound like Charlie Brown’s teacher? Or did I miss the diagnosis of ADD or am just to dumb to comprehend the words coming out of people’s mouth. Is this a trick of Satan oops I done it again what were we talking about? I think our lives maybe over stimulated too many oooh shinys to think about or to be engaged with! Maybe meditation before class a little prayer to ask God to settle our minds. Who am I kidding if meditation or prayer goes past 5 minutes I’m doomed. Oh something shiny got to go!

  2. Carmen says:

    I just finished my first week of college so I’m afraid I can’t be very helpful. I’m looking forward to see what everyone else has to say though.

Leave a Reply

